Dismiss Message
  • 2020 Honors Day Poster by Joshua Keske, Nicole Manderfeld, & Macy Cunningham

Northland hosts an annual Honors Day Convocation and Poster Symposium. Unfortunately, in light of Governor Evers Stay-At-Home order, this year’s event has been cancelled. While we were looking forward to publicly recognizing our students’ hard work and impressive accomplishments, it is more important for us all to be safe and stay healthy. In lieu of the Convocation, we are pleased to announce the 2020 award recipients. There may be less fanfare, but the pride we feel for each recipient is steadfast. We virtually clap our hands and offer our sincere and enthusiastic ‘Congratulations!’

You can see Joshua Keske, Nicole Manderfeld, and Macy Cunningham’s 2020 poster about their project: Sigurd Olson Environmental Institute Statistical Effectiveness of Outdoor Programs below.

2019-20 Honors Day Award recipients

Achievement Awards

Bethel Sophomore Award
MacKenzie Harris
Arthur J. Ingold Jr. – Julia R. Gilman Junior Award
AnnaSage Rothe
Wallace C. Hitchcock Memorial Award
EmmaMarie Hammond

Departmental Awards and Honors

Joel M. Glickman Chequamegon Symphony Orchestra Award
A.J. Vidales
Bobb Beckstrom Language Award
Cameron Kadlubowski
Steen-Tucker Award
Sara Beadle
Henry J. Fitzgibbon Music Award
Miranda Boyd
William Kelsey Howison Music Award
Leah Kiser
Donald Albrecht Art Award
Kaia Sateren
Charles Twining Memorial Award
Kathryn Simpson
Barbara Bretting Photography Award Winner
Elijah Ourth ‘A Calling’
Barbara Bretting Photography Award Runner-Up
Sara Beadle ‘Delight in Decay’
Barbara Bretting Poetry Writing Award
Ramona Schiller ‘The Nostalgia Monster of Lake Superior’
Barbara Bretting Poetry Writing Award Runner-Up
Lillian Knoll ‘Water Break in the High School Weight Room’
Barbara Bretting Fiction Writing Award Winner
Danielle Diamond Nepstad ‘The Finches of Marinuka’
Barbara Bretting Fiction Writing Award Runner-Up
Macy Cunningham ‘Below the Wind Farm’
Barbara Bretting Essay Award Winner
Coriander Dehlin ‘My Dad’s Favorite Color is Green’
Barbara Bretting Essay Award Runner-Up
Kaibah Hopper ‘Cross-bedded Stories’
Environmental Science and Natural Resources Faculty Award
Kaelin Hall
Emma Holtan
Emily Mader
Anisa Ryan
Lauren Sloyer
Sean VanZeeland
James P. Fennessey Award in Chemistry
Amelia Baclasky
Matthew Berg Endowed Award
Adrian Bethel
Nicholas C. Bystrom Award in Mathematics and Statistics
Emily Mader
Tim Carpenter Memorial Award
Khousheng Moua
Sean Vandervort
Bruce Goetz Tools of the Trade Award
Shawn Mahoney
Bruce Alan Goetz Geosciences Award
Sean VanZeeland
Mary Griggs Burke Center for Freshwater Innovation Award
Emma Holtan
Shelly Ray
The Parker Matzinger Internships of Impact Award
Josh Kolasch
James E. Meeker Award for Excellence in Natural Resources Research
Taylor Pichler
Xcel Energy Environmental Awards
Adrian Bethel
Dakota Stankowski
Mayme Raszkowski Stewart Award
AnnaSage Rothe
Garis Hagstrom Memorial Award
Sasha Voldberg
Outstanding Achievement in Sustainable Community Development
Sara Beadle
Tighe Jones
Outstanding Business Student Award
Maria Hanson
The Sandy and Regina Scott Award
Isaac Montano
Frances Lavine Native American Studies Achievement Award
Melissa Knop
Frances Lavine Native American Studies Outstanding Service Award
Shyanne Eustace
Outdoor Education Outstanding Professional Potential Awards
Elizabeth Priester
Outdoor Education Outstanding Senior Award
Rowan Koester-Jess
Outdoor Education Outstanding Junior Award
Macy Cunningham
Outdoor Education Outstanding Sophomore Award
Joey Eldridge
Teacher Education: Distinction in Elementary/Middle Student Teaching Award

Michael Schwerin
Teacher Education: Distinction in Secondary Education/Social Studies Teaching Award
Reagan Wellman

Faculty Merit Awards

Outstanding Service Award
Dr. Dave Ullman
Outstanding Scholarship/Professional Activities Award
Dr. Elizabeth Andre
Outstanding Teaching Award
Dr. Evan Coulson

Northland College Student Association (NCSA) Awards

Northland College Student Association Staff Award
Ruth de Jesus
Northland College Student Association Faculty Award
Gina Kirsten

2020 Poster Submissions

2020 Honors Day Poster by Joshua Keske, Nicole Manderfeld, & Macy Cunningham

Explore More